The Day I Dreamed About You


I woke up with a familiar seed of hope, confused, as I am sure I buried our memories deep enough to not give me this false expectation.

After a long time, you were in my dream again.

……

They are going to take me. I waited a long time for this dream to happen again as I declined twice, hesitatant that I am not to leave the waking world yet.

They are getting impatient, they are determined that this time I will go with them willingly.

They are calling me. But before I feel the overwhelming peace I felt upon entering their circle the last time, you showed up.

“I’m going”, I told you with a smile on my face. I cannot bear the pain in the waking world anymore.

“Don’t leave, talk to me..”, your eyes begging me.

Though I wish to go as fast as I could, I sit down. For the last goodbye, I thought.

“It’s too late, I’m coming with th–”

“I was in love with you for 4 weeks, you know..”, like a sudden storm you brought this up.

I can feel the regret, the lingering stares we had, the heartache of realizing it will not progress as I hope it would. I remember thinking of the days where the only thing I want the most is to hold your hand.

“I was in love with you for over a year..”, I finally admitted. Oh, how much I wanted you to know. “Since the first time I saw you.”

There it is again, those eyes trying to read me. And my eyes looking back trying to decode what is going on inside your head.

Why are we talking about this now? Are we going to blame each other for a feeling that neither of us had a courage to admit?

I see them behind you, signaling that it’s time.

“I have to go..”, I stand up wishing I had a chance to hug you in real life.

I never thought such conversation will be painful, even in dreams. But this is the last heartache, I’m glad it was you that I share it with. Someone I never had.

“Don’t.”, you stood up.

“I have to..”, taking my first step.

You lean closer. “For me.. Please, wake up..”

I woke up with a familiar seed of hope, confused, as I am sure I buried our memories deep enough to not give me this false expectation.

After a long time, you were in my dream again.

 

12307511_10206775222092106_6818865384353253743_o

Leave a Reply

